Emergency Fund?

My family is trying desperately to live on a budget, but what happens when an emergency occurs?

On Easter, we came home to find our cat meowing in pain with what looked to us like a broken jaw. We immediately went to an emergency vet clinic. The whole time all I could think about was what if we can’t afford whatever we need to do to make him better. He is a part of the family, and I couldn’t possibly make that kind of decision. Could I?

Thankfully, I don’t have the answer to that, because so far, I have been able to find a way. But, it did make me think about how one should handle emergencies like this when on a budget.

Honestly, everyone’s situation will be different. The best plan would be to have an emergency fund set aside, but if your family is anything like mine, then you are living paycheck to paycheck and don’t have the luxury of an emergency fund.

We have so far added it to a credit card we had paid off, but what happens if his care ends up costing more than that. Well that is why I created a GoFundMe account. I have heard a lot of good and bad about this site on the news, but honestly, it seems like a great way to get family, friends and possibly others to help out if they feel like they can (I know I would if i had the extra money). As long as the person who created the campaign is an honest and moral person there shouldn’t be a problem, but isn’t that the way it is in life as well?

P.S. Do you have an emergency fund?

If you would like to help my family fund our cat’s emergency vet care or to get more information on his progress, you can go to our GoFundMe page at http://gofundme.com/rb3w3cg8.

image

Leave a Reply

