Can you?

Technology is great when it works, but when it doesn’t, it can really cause problems.

A couple of years ago while I was working in the service industry, I  went to run a customer’s credit card and found that it was not working. After a brief moment of panic, I remembered that there was something in my bottom drawer meant exactly for this kind of problem, carbon paper. When I was younger, I had used these regularly to take down the credit card information. There was a device where you would place the credit card on the flat surface of the device then place the carbon paper over it and swipe the metal handle over the paper a couple of times. This would etch a copy of the credit card image onto the carbon paper. Unfortunately even my previous experience made me unable to remember what to do plus it didn’t help that I did not have the device only the carbon paper.

It was strange how something I use to do regularly had become so obsolete that I couldn’t even figure out how to do it. We rely so heavily on technology that even those of us who didn’t always have the abundance of it that is common now have a hard time without it. I remember when the show Revolution came out. I pretty much just wanted to watch it, because I was curious how they would show how our society would react to no technology. Honestly, I think it was a bit over dramatic (it is a drama TV show), but I do think that it would be difficult for our society to adjust.

P.S. Could you get through your day without using technology?

onedaynotech

2 thoughts on “Can you?

Leave a Reply

