Yes, I was an Army girl

As my graduation from high school approached, I realized that I had no idea what I really wanted to do. I feared choosing the wrong major and being stuck with it.

I remember seeing a commercial for the Army and feeling like that was where I was meant to be. I went through the beginning process feeling confident in my decision. Then came the day my family to me to the hotel where we would be together for the last time in awhile.

What was I doing, was I crazy, what was I getting myself into? All of these questions and more ran through my head as I sobbed in my mother’s arms while she cried as well with my dad and sister standing by. We were and still are a very close family and at that point in my life I had never been away from them for more than 2 weeks. I was scared and wanted out, but my family reminded me that I had made a commitment and had to follow through with it.

There were many times through my 3.5 years in the Army that I wondered why I had joined, why did I feel like it was my calling especially seeing as I didn’t stay in. Then I see my husband who I met while in the military and at the life we have together and at our beautiful daughter, and I know it was meant to be.

While my personal experience in the military wasn’t great, it was an honor to serve my country, and I don’t regret my decision. I also truly believe that the military is for some people and not for others. I know many people still in the military who love what they do, and I am happy that they found something they enjoy and applaud then for serving our country.

P.S. Do you know anyone in the military? Did they/you think it was a good decision to join?

image

2 thoughts on “Yes, I was an Army girl

  1. Kathy says:

    Parental decisions can be difficult and heart wrenching. Our daughter was always a very head strong and determined child/young lady and we made several attempts to deter her from her decision before it was too late to turn back. For years following the tear filled good-bye to our daughter as she left our nest to join the army, we questioned our advice that day as she cried in our arms and then as she struggled with the vigorous demands of army life and being away from family.

    Sometimes the repercussions to our decisions don’t become clear until somewhere down the road. Thats just life. We, as parents, are overjoyed that our daughter is happy and because she persevered and didn’t quit, she met her future husband, our son-in-law, and now has a beautiful daughter, our granddaughter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wise in Disguise says:

      I told you that you would comment on this post. 😉

      It can be difficult, and I know what I went through my family went through too. We make the best decisions we can with the information we have at the time. You didn’t do anything wrong. In fact, you did something right. You taught me to think things through, and once you make a decision/commitment, you stick with it until your commitment is over.

      Besides we got something amazing out of it, more family.

      Like

Leave a Reply

