I let my 5 year old daughter direct a photo shoot of me.

I have read a few articles about mothers who let their child pick clothes out of the mother’s closet that the mother would then wear for the day. This is where I got the inspiration for my idea.

I gave her a few different options which are as follows: makeup or no makeup; shirt and pants, dress, or bathing suit; and location in our apartment. She would then be given a limit of 10 photos to take of me with her telling me how to pose, and I did it. Lol πŸ™‚

What she ended up choosing is for me to wear makeup, a dress with the only pair of high heels I own, and taking the photos in her room. She was so excited about doing this that she made a backdrop for the photo shoot out of her blankets and such. I also did a video showing the entire photo shoot which my husband is going to edit, and I just might share that as well, because it was absolutely amazing how she directed me and told me exactly how to pose.

Here is the link to see theΒ 10 photos that she took in all of their glory. πŸ˜‰

P.S. Would you consider doing something like this with your child? And if so, would you share it?

4 thoughts on “I let my 5 year old daughter direct a photo shoot of me.

  1. lagerwhat says:

    This is an awesome idea! I did this with my son (now 6) and daughter (3) because its interesting to see how they view the world and what they’re truly interested in. My son had me reenact the first level of Super Mario Bros and do a variety of boss fights from the Mario series. My daughter just painted a Picasso on my face and cooed over how pretty I was. Then I made Shutterfly books out of their work to start their own photo collections. They regularly look at them and laugh at my expense, as did a good number of people on Facebook [facepalm].

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wise in Disguise says:

      That’s awesome! I hope that paint was washable. πŸ˜‰ My daughter also loves to tell me how pretty I am. It really makes one feel good. πŸ™‚

      Even though looking at my photos from this makes me cringe a little, seeing how happy and excited my daughter was doing this with me was totally worth it. And, I must admit that I did enjoy doing this with her too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • lagerwhat says:

        Their concept of pretty/beautiful is so natural and unpolluted by all the “stuff” that scares and freaks us older folk out.

        And, nope, not all of it came out. Washable, the package said. Riiiight….

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wise in Disguise says:

        Lol. I totally agree. It takes all I have not to argue with her and show her my flaws, but I love the way she sees me and don’t want to change that. If only we could view ourselves the way they see us.

        That is hilarious. I’m sure explaining what happened was fun. I know once my husband and daughter used stuff like that on her face. She had kitty whiskers for some time. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

