Come what may

Very few people know this about me, but I went through a state of depression when I was 17. I didn’t know or understand what was going on with me. While I was filling out a questionnaire sheet for our new doctor, I came to the the depression block check yes or no. I left it blank not knowing how to answer it. My mom saw that and asked me about it then we went to our doctor.

It had been difficult not understanding the feelings I was experiencing, so when my doctor prescribed me an antidepressant, I thought things would go back to the way they were before. I was wrong. The antidepressant ended up numbing my feelings which was an odd sensation.  I was not depressed anymore, but i also wasn’t happy
I wasn’t anything. I just was. I ended up making the decision to get off the antidepressant and deal with the depression, because I also wanted to experience life’s joys.

I still go through bouts of it but have discovered that it is usually tied in with stress and sleeping problems for me, but I am lucky because my depression is manageable not everyone is so lucky. Having had to deal with this has made me more understanding of those who deal with emotions they don’t understand or can’t handle on their own. We never know what the other person is going through so always think first before you judge. For if you ever asked any of my friends who don’t know this about me whether I had depression, they would most likely say no, because I try to smile through all that life throws my way.

P.S. What helps you power through tough times?

image

One thought on “Come what may

Leave a Reply

