Just One Small Voice

You have a right to be upset. You have a right to protest. You do not have the right to attack anyone. You do not have the right to steal. And don’t you dare use Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. as a justification for your violence. He stood for many things, but violence was not one of them.

You’re right that race is an issue, but this world has a lot of issues. You’re right that police target young black men, but they have been programmed into this by what they have seen and experienced. Stop waiting for them to change. Instead change yourself then perhaps they will start to listen. And hear me on this one, Violence Does Not Solve Anything.

I am a proud white woman. I would not change who I am for anyone. And I won’t feel bad, because I was born white. I also won’t feel sorry for you just because you were born different from me. Instead we should celebrate each other’s differences while joining together to peacefully make ourselves heard. People tend to listen to someone who informs them what is going on and tune out those who are screaming at them. Sometimes, it is in the quietness that we hear the truth.

I think this video of my daughter singing really sums it all up. I love her so much, and I want her to be proud that she is a mix between her father (a black man) and me (a white woman). Sometimes, it just takes one small voice to change the world!!!

Embrace that change, be that change.

8 thoughts on “Just One Small Voice

  1. Don Cody says:

    Your daughter is adorable. And I understand and agree with the idea that violence is not to be encouraged. But it seems that you’re absolving the actions of the police because of their “programming” but fail to apply the same excuse to those who act out with violence. There is some programming going on there as well. Here’s something Martin Luther King Jr. said during “The Other America” speech in 1968. I think, sadly, it still applies almost half a century later:

    “But it is not enough for me to stand before you tonight and condemn riots. It would be morally irresponsible for me to do that without, at the same time, condemning the contingent, intolerable conditions that exist in our society. These conditions are the things that cause individuals to feel that they have no other alternative than to engage in violent rebellions to get attention. And I must say tonight that a riot is the language of the unheard. And what is it America has failed to hear?…It has failed to hear that the promises of freedom and justice have not been met. And it has failed to hear that large segments of white society are more concerned about tranquility and the status quo than about justice and humanity.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wise in Disguise says:

      I am not excusing either side’s actions. I believe what is being done by some police officers is just as bad as what is being done by some black people. I do understand that sometimes people feel like they have no other choice than to protest loudly although or with rioting. What I will never be able to agree with or understand is when violent actions are taken against those who are innocent no matter who they are or who they are caused by. I hope I have clarified that for you. Thank you so much for your response and for saying my daughter is cute. 🙂 I love her so much and worry about what kind of affect all of this may have on her.

      Like

      • Don Cody says:

        Thank you for clarifying. It just sounded to me like saying the police were programmed to behave that way was excusing their behavior. I agree that violence against innocents is wrong. But it’s becoming apparent that in many cities, that seems to be what some people with authority are doing — mostly to African Americans trying to cope with systemic poverty and mass incarceration.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wise in Disguise says:

        I definitely don’t excuse the police officers who have abused their power. Just as I don’t excuse those who have been damaging, stealing and causing utter mayhem in these cities during the protests. Both sides have been programmed by their experiences and environment. We might not be able to change what goes on around us, but we can change how we react to it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

